+ connections +


Fall 2012 Reading List
October 12, 2012, 3:18 pm
Filed under: rhetoric

I always admire the way Clay Spinuzzi shares reviews of some of what he reads (which is a lot!). And I always feel a sense of mourning when I have to return a book to the library, or when a new amazon delivery is sped-read before bed and then stacked on a shelf.

While I take copious notes, I tend to not make much of my thoughts on the books or articles too public. Sometimes they make their way into literature reviews for current scholarship I’m working on, but sometimes not.

I have fond memories of my comp-exams days (no really!) when I got to spend 8-10 hours a day doing nothing but reading for an entire semester. Each semester I try and put together a reading list for myself, similar to what I did back for comprehensive exams. So, here’s a list of books I’ve currently got out of the library now or recently received from amazon.

I’ll plan to write up little public reviews of them as I can, but probably nothing as useful as Clay’s reviews. If some of what I list below reminds you of other scholarship I should check out, please note that in a comment! Thanks!

The Public Work of Rhetoric: Citizen-Scholars and Civic Engagement. Eds. John M. Ackerman and David J. Coogan. 2010.

The Social Construction of Climate Change. Ed. Mary E. Pettenger. 2007.

Participation and Power: Civic Discourse in Environmental Policy Decisions. W. Michele Simmons. 2007.

The Promise of Reason: Studies in The New Rhetoric. Ed. John T. Gage. 2011.

Ecology, Writing Theory, and New Media. Ed. Sidney I. Dobrin. 2012.

The Three Ecologies. Felix Guattari. 2000.

Writing Studies Research in Practice: Methods and Methodologies. Eds. Lee Nickoson and Mary P. Sheridan. 2012.

Interpreting Interviews. Mats Alvesson. 2011.

Facility Siting: Risk, Power and Identity in Land Use Planning. Eds. Asa Boholm and Ragnar E. Lofstedt. 2004.

Re-Reading

Genre Knowledge in Disciplinary Community. Berkenkotter and Huckin. 1995.

23 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You might want to check out Jenny Rice’s book *Distant Publics*. It seems like it would fit right alongside the others you list.

Comment by Casey

Thanks, Casey! I will do that!

Comment by Christa Teston

I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site.
I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as well.
In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own
blog now ;)

Comment by Esports Bets

This article will help the internet visitors for creating new website
or even a blog from start to end.

Comment by video Slot

Hi there, I believe your site might be having web browser compatibility problems.
Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer,
it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads
up! Other than that, wonderful website!

Comment by slot machines

I want to to thank you for this excellent read!!
I absolutely loved every little bit of it. I’ve got you saved as a favorite
to look at new things you post…

Comment by how increase height

Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it ;) I may return yet again since I bookmarked it.
Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be
rich and continue to guide other people.

Comment by super ubrania plecak

Combating multilevel marketing stigma requires avoiding such reasons.
OK Bob (or Barbara), here is what I want you to do.

In case your network marketing venture won’t become successful, at least you won’t go broke because you
didn’t invest all your money on it.

Comment by Kelley

Just desire to say your article is as amazing.
The clearness in your post is simply excellent and i can
assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

Comment by Cscs Card

What’s up, its good article on the topic of media print, we all know media
is a fantastic source of information.

Comment by אישורי הגעה לאירועים

Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you’re talking approximately!
Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my web site =).
We could have a hyperlink exchange agreement among us

Comment by Get More Information

It’s genuinely very complex in this full of activity life to listen news on Television,
so I simply use world wide web for that reason, and obtain the most up-to-date information.

Comment by Flotrol - Improve Your Bladder Health Naturally - Flotrol Bladder Control

Excellent site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality
writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you!
Take care!!

Comment by natural whitening cream for face

Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.

It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and
appearance. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.
Also, the blog loads very quick for me on Opera.
Excellent Blog!

Comment by free social network site

Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
I will be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will
be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Comment by Edward

Highly descriptive article, I enjoyed that a lot. Will
there be a part 2?

Comment by helzberg 3 Stone diamond Rings

I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you
have hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that
not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my
hunt for something concerning this.

Comment by Dakine Trucker Hat

Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements
would really make my blog jump out. Please let me
know where you got your design. Thanks

Comment by south Padre surf

This paragraph is really a nice one it helps new net viewers,
who are wishing for blogging.

Comment by airush kites dna

Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?

I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or
if it’s the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Comment by Odette

Hello to every one, the contents existing at this website are really amazing for people experience, well, keep up the good work
fellows.

Comment by http://www.buyhghonline.org

Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and detailed information you offer.

It’s awesome to come across a blog every
once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Fantastic read!
I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Comment by fat burners to get cut

Hello, after reading this amazing article i am also delighted to share my familiarity here with mates.

Comment by best hgh pills for muscle growth




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

